Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

SC-SIC Board of Trustees

SC-SIC Board Chair Dora LeonardDora Leonard, Board of Trustees Chair, Seneca

Ms. Leonard was named an SIC Advocate of the Year in 2016 for her service as Chair for the Walhalla Middle School SIC in Oconee County, and she has been active with the SIC of that district’s Walhalla High School.

A senior communications executive who has counseled Fortune 50 companies and nonprofit organizations, Ms. Leonard has also served as project director for contracts with the National Institutes of Health and developed outreach strategies focused on physicians, advocacy groups, and the public.

She is currently a senior consulting partner with McGinn & Company of Arlington, VA, one of the nation’s leading crisis communications firms, and is a senior communications strategist and former Vice President, for MMG, Inc., in Rockville, MD, a top Washington, DC, public relations firm. She previously served as Director of Public Relations for Alexandria Hospital, Alexandria, VA.

She has served as a member of the SC State Superintendent of Education’s Parent Advisory Council, and as co-founder of the Upstate Giving Circle, an organization dedicated to giving back to the community through fundraising and outreach. She currently serves as a board member of the Foothills YMCA.

SC-SIC Vice Chair Bob GrantRobert “Bob” Grant, Vice-Chair, Orangeburg
(bio available soon)





Shari SebuckShari Sebuck, Secretary, Charleston
Ms. Sebuck has served as a parent member and chair of the School Improvement Councils at Laing Middle School of Science and Technology and Jennie Moore Elementary School, and was a member of the SIC at Cario Middle School, all in the Charleston County School District.

She has served as Director of Marketing and Public Relations with RiverTowne Country Club in Mount Pleasant, Ms. Sebuck was previously Founder/Owner and Director of Marketing for Blackbeard’s Cove Family Fun Park in Mount Pleasant, a consultant and trainer with SkillPath Seminars in South Carolina and Florida, and Director of Recreational Tennis for the Florida Tennis Association.

In 1992, she was the recipient of the Miami (FL) Chamber of Commerce “Sports Achievement Recognition Award,” and was the 1991 Florida State Tennis Champion in Mixed Doubles.

Ms. Sebuck holds the Bachelor of Business Administration degree from East Tennessee State University. 

SC-SIC Immediate Past Chair Amelia B. McKieAmelia B. McKie, Immediate Past Chair, Columbia
Ms. McKie has served as Co-Chair, Chair and current Ex-Officio Chair of the Dick and Tunky Riley Honor Roll award-winning Ridge View High SIC, and as a member of the SICs of Rice Creek and North Springs Elementary schools in Richland School District 2. A member of Ridge View’s Parent Teacher School Alliance, she has also served on Richland Two's Parent Engagement Committee. Ms. McKie is a founding partner of Nfusion, LLC, a Columbia-based communications and governmental relations firm, and previously served as Chief Operating Officer for McLeod Butler Communications, LLC. Ms. McKie is a South Carolina Education Policy Fellow and a graduate of Leadership South Carolina.


James BlassingameRev. James B. Blassingame, Sumter
Rev. Blassingame has served as Pastor of Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church in Sumter since 1984. A substitute elementary school teacher and an SIC member at Lemira Elementary and Chestnut Oaks Middle in the Sumter School District, he also currently serves as President of the Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention of SC, and as First Assistant Secretary of the National Baptist Convention USA. Rev. Blassingame also serves on the Sumter School District Community Advisory Board and on the Boards of Trustees for Morris College and Benedict College.


SC-SIC Board member Mary Anne ByrdMary Anne Byrd, Camden
(bio available soon)





Sallie Cooks

Sallie Cooks, Edgefield
Dr. Cooks served as a member of Edgefield County School Board for 12 years, including serving as chair for six years and vice-chair for two years, and has served as a lead volunteer mentor with high school students in Edgefield County. Dr. Cooks is an active AdvancEd team member and  has been an SIC member at Strom Thurmond High School. Additionally, she has served as an SC-SIC Regional Council Specialist in 2014-16.

A 2010 South Carolina Policy Educational Policy Fellowship Program (SC-EPFP) alumna, she was also a 2011 Global Education Policy Fellowship Program Fellowship sc2011 Global Policy Fellowship scholar,  giving her opportunities to collaborate with educators nationally and to visit public schools in China.

Dr. Cooks is co-founder of Power One Family Matters Ministries, Inc. (POFMM) where she is CEO and serves as both an ordained minister and certified Christian counselor.

SC-SIC Board member Rose ChoiceRose Choice, Estill
(bio available soon)





SC-SIC Board Member Carol HillCarol Hill, Florence
(bio available soon)





Trevor T. IveyTrevor T. Ivey, Sumter
(bio available soon)





SC-SIC Board member Bonnie KingBonnie King, Kingstree
(bio available soon)





Jeff NicholsonJeff Nicholson, Rock Hill
Mr. Nicholson is an estimator with Laboratory Design & Equipment in Fort Mill. He is the recipient of numerous Rock Hill School District 3 and state volunteer awards and he has been involved with several groups at Rock Hill’s South Pointe High School, including serving as a member and Chair of that school’s local SIC. He previously served on the SC-SIC Board of Trustees, including service as Board Chair from 2007 to 2009. In 2005, he was awarded the Board’s statewide SIC Advocate of the Year Award recognizing his exemplary efforts on behalf of SICs in his district and across the state. 


Thessa G. SmithThessa G. Smith, Allendale
Ms. Smith is the current Economic Development Director for McCormick County, and previously served on the SC-SIC Board from 2002 to 2008. Formerly she has served as the County Administrator for Allendale County and Assistant County Manager for Greenwood County. She is a past PTSO President and SIC member for Greenwood County High School. Reverend Smith is also the Pastor of Mt. Carmel United Methodist Church in Ninety, Six, SC.



Dr. Myriam E. TorresDr. Myriam E. Torres, Columbia
Dr. Torres is Director of the Consortium for Latino Immigration Studies and a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of South Carolina’s Arnold School of Public Health. She has been a member of SC Department of Health and Environmental Control’s Commissioner’s Advisory Council on Elimination of Health Disparities, has served on Board of Directors of My Amigos Bilingual Education Center (MABEC) and the South Carolina Hispanic/Latino Health Coalition. She has served on the Hispanic Advisory Committee of the SC Commission for Minority Affairs.


SC-SIC Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

SC-SIC Board of Trustees Board Regions (PDF)