

## **South Carolina Education Policy Fellowship Program**

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Tom F. Hudson, Program Co-Coordinator, SC Education Policy Fellowship Program **Contact:** (803) 777-7658

hudsontf@mailbox.sc.edu

## 11 South Carolina professional leaders graduate from prestigious education policy program

COLUMBIA - Eleven (11) professional leaders from across South Carolina recently graduated from the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program (SC-EPFP).

SC-EPFP is a 10-month intensive professional development program for established and emerging leaders in education and related fields to help equip them in working toward sound education policy and practice in South Carolina. During 2014-15, SC-EPFP Fellows participated in activities promoting leadership, developing professional networks, exploring education policy, and fostering a greater understanding of the roles of government and the community.

This year's SC-EPFP graduates are:

- Nicky Andrews, Principal Greenbrier Elementary School, Greenville County Schools, Greenville
- Laura M. Brown, Principal Pocalla Springs Elementary School, Sumter County School District, Sumter
- Gregg Dixon, SC Public Charter School District Teacher of the Year, 2013 Royal Live Oaks Academy of the Arts and Sciences, Hardeeville
- Gerard Edwards, Principal Alfred Rush Academy, Florence School District One, Florence
- Daniel Matthews, Principal Camden High School, Kershaw County School District, Camden
- Mia McLeod, State Legislator SC House of Representatives, District 79, Richland County
- Angie Rye, Chief Academic Officer Lexington County School District Three, Batesburg-Leesville
- Gregory Sweet, Principal Williston Elko Middle School, Williston District 29, Williston
- Catherine Townsend, Grants, Research and National Strategy Manager Darkness to Light, Charleston
- Cliff Warren, Principal Colleton County High School, Colleton County School District, Walterboro
- Michele Zee, SC Middle School Assistant Principal of the Year, 2014 Pleasant Hill Middle School, Lexington School District One, Lexington

Speaking during the SC-EPFP graduation ceremony on June 8 in Columbia were State Representative Rita Allison (R-District 36), Chair of the House Education and Public Works Committee, and State Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman, an SC-EPFP alumna and former program coordinator.

"Quality and equitable educational opportunities are the life's blood of South Carolina's future," said Tom F. Hudson, Executive Director of the SC School Improvement Council and SC-EPFP Program Co-Coordinator. "This year's SC-EPFP graduates are some of our state's best and brightest. They join nearly 150 other SC-EPFP alumni who are making a significant impact on education policy and practice benefiting our students, our schools, and our communities."

This year's Fellows met monthly throughout the academic year for full-day dialogues, exercises, and group projects, in addition to a two-day Fall Upstate Leadership Forum, a day at the South Carolina State House, and the four-day Washington Policy Seminar in April hosted by the Institute for Educational Leadership, during which they met with representatives of the state's Congressional delegation.

SC-EPFP operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, DC, which oversees Fellowship programs in 13 states and the District of Columbia. In South Carolina the program is coordinated by the SC School Improvement Council, located in the University of South Carolina College of Education, with the assistance of the SC Department of Education's Office of School Leadership.

The South Carolina program is supported by an advisory board providing cross-disciplinary leadership representing the state's K-12 education, higher education, and business communities.

For additional information on the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program, visit the SC-EPFP page online at http://sic.sc.gov/sceducationpolicyfellowshipprogram/Pages/index.aspx.