Skip Navigation

SC=EPFP logo

SC Education Policy Fellowship Program
A 10-month professional development
program for established and emerging leaders in education and
related fields designed to work toward the  implementation of  sound education policy and practice in South Carolina.

News release: 13 South Carolina professional and civic leaders named to prestigious education policy program

Download the SC-EPFP brochure

Download the SC-EPFP application

SCEPFP Class of 2012-2013
SC-EPFP Class of 2012-13, State House, February 2013


SC-EPFP Class of 2012-13 with Senator Lindsey Graham April 2013
SC-EPFP Class of 2012-13 with Senator Lindsey Graham, Washington D.C., April 2013

SC-EPFP Class of 2012-13 with Senator Lindsey Graham April 2013
SC-EPFP Class of 2012-13 with Senator Lindsey Graham, Washington D.C., April 2013  

Click the image below to download the 2013-2014 SC-EPFP brochure and application:

 SC-SPFP brochure image


  • Engaging stakeholders;
  • Enlarging networks;
  • Developing leaders;
  • Deepening understanding;
  • Honing skills;
  • Creating consensus; and
  • Building capacity.

The Education Policy Fellowship Program (EPFP) was created in 1964 by the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, DC, in anticipation of the explosive growth of the federal role in education under the 1965 Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). The transformed federal role in education generated a need for education professionals in the states who understood the content of federal legislation, the policy process and the complex changes state systems were undergoing as a result. (More:


To learn more, download the SC-EPFP brochure, 2013-2014 application and Curriculum Summaries from 2011-2012 and 2012-2013:

SC-EPFP brochure

SC-EPFP 2013 - 2014 application

SC-SPFP 2011-2012 Curriculum Summary.pdf
SC-EPFP 2012-2013 Curriculum Summary.pdf

Today there is no topic more central to the future of our state and nation than education. Myriad challenges to education posed by new changes in federal level policy, the national recession and severe state budget cuts that threaten South Carolina’s focus on educational accountability and improvement add urgency to the need for education leadership statewide. South Carolina’s EPFP is developing an influential cadre of sophisticated, broad-minded and well-networked leaders representing all stakeholder groups who will take action to improve the future of our state through education improvement and reform.


The SC-EPFP program features a variety of activities designed to promote leadership, develop professional networks, demystify education policy and foster understanding of the role of government and the grassroots in creating and implementing policy and practice. Fellows will learn from experts working in education and other fields relating to children and families and will engage in dialogue with key decision-makers affecting public policy. Professional networks will be enriched as Fellows build relationships with high-caliber professionals and share their diverse points of view and expertise in their workplaces and communities.


SC-EPFP meets monthly September through June primarily in Columbia for a full day of dialogues, interactive exercises, small group projects, book discussions, and more. An overnight Leadership Forum is scheduled in the Fall and a four-day Washington Policy Seminar hosted by the Institute for Educational Leadership is held in the nation’s capitol in April. Educators may qualify for recertification or certificate renewal credits. (Option 6 or 10.) Graduate credits may also be available; please inquire.


South Carolina Education Policy Fellowship Program
Program Dates
2013 – 2014*
(subject to change)

Friday, September 6, 2013
Friday and Saturday, October 18 & 19, 2013 -
Charleston Leadership Retreat; Charleston Marriott
Friday, November 1, 2013
Friday, December 6, 2013
Friday, January 17, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 -
Day at the SC State House
Friday, March 14, 2014
Sunday through Wednesday, April 27 – 30, 2014
Washington Policy Seminar; Washington Renaissance Hotel
Friday, May 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014  -  TBD Graduation

*Unless otherwise noted meetings will be held at SC Archives and History, 8301 Parklane Road, Columbia, SC 29223. SC-EPFP will make every effort to keep the meeting dates as posted but dates are subject to change.


** Meeting dates and locations are subject to change. Fellows are expected to attend all sessions (up to two days may be missed in an emergency) and the Washington Policy Seminar to receive a certificate.


SC-EPFP is coordinated by Cassie Barber, Executive Director of the South Carolina School Improvement Council, Educational Leadership and Policy Department, College of Education, University of South Carolina, with support from Sally Barefoot, Director of the Office of Leader Effectiveness at the South Carolina Department of Education, and Bruce Moseley of the Office of Leader Effectiveness. Ms. Barber, Ms. Barefoot and Mr. Moseley are EPFP alumni. For more information about SCEPFP, please contact Cassie Barber at 803-777-7658 or 800-868-2232.


17 South Carolina professional and civic leaders
named to prestigious education policy program for class of 2012-2013

ATTENTION Education Policy Leaders:
Don't miss your opportunity to study education policy in the Age of Globalization by investigating education development challenges in the United Kingdom.


Apply to participate in the Global Education Policy Fellowship Program (GEPFP).


Beginning in August 2013, GEPFP Senior Fellows--experienced education policy leaders and administrators--will participate in one two-hour Web-based seminar each month that focuses on key global policy issues until March 2014. Fellows will travel to the United Kingdom from October 18-27, 2013 for an education policy study-tour that will include briefings with policy and university leaders, school visits and dialogue with educators. Senior Policy Fellows may also conduct an optional policy analysis of an education policy initiative in the United Kingdom as an individual or in a small collaborative team. The program will conclude in April 2014 with a convening in Washington, DC to share policy analyses, insights and experiences.


  • Monthly, two-hour online seminars from August, 2013 - March 2014
  • United Kingdom Study Tour, October 18-27, 2013
  • A two-day (Friday/Saturday) capstone convening in Washington, DC, April 25-26, 2014
  • Optional policy analysis of an education policy initiative in the United Kingdom as an individual or in a small collaborative team.

GEPFP is a unique experience open to Education Policy Fellowship Program alumni and other senior level leaders with an interest in global education policy.

Each GEPFP Senior Fellow or the Fellow's employing agency–the sponsor–pays the base program fee of $750 and travel fees. The employer also provides release time as needed for participation in the United Kingdom Study Tour and other program activities.


To apply, please complete the GEPFP online application. The application—along with a $750 deposit—is due by July 31, 2013.

Note: $500 of the deposit is non-refundable upon cancellation.


SC-EPFP Advisory Board:

SC Association of School Administrators
SC Department of Education
SC Schools Boards Association
Clemson University
SC Chamber of Commerce
SC Education Oversight Committee
University of South Carolina
At-large members Dr. Angela Bain and Ms. Moryah Jackson